Art Every Day Month — Day 4

Botanicals

This is a fun process I learned at a workshop with Jenn Burke of Westside Studio in the spring and decided to play around with it today. Here’s how I did it:

Tools: Prisma Colored Pencils and pastel paper.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Step 1: With a dark blue color pencil on blue pastel paper, I created a simple outline free form drawing of plants and flowers, but you can draw animals or anything that strikes your fancy.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Step 2: I then cut the drawing into three big pieces.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Step 3: I chose three distinct palettes of color with the Prisma Colored Pencils.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Step 4: Turning over two of the pieces, I used one palette set to color in one section.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Step 5:
After I finished one section I turned it over and repeated Step 4 until I complete all three sections. Note: The nice thing about colored pencil is that you can layer the colors which produces interesting results. I also decided to add white color pencil to all of the sections as a blending tool.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Step 6: After completing all three sections, I taped them together on the back and turned over to see what I got!

Leave a Reply

