Play Date in San Francisco

birds_1211Lino Cut Bird

On Saturday I decided to take a lino cut workshop with Betsy Cordes of February 13 Creative at the Makeshift Society. It was also a good opportunity for me to check out the cool co-working space in Hayes Valley, that caters to creatives.

After showing us the basics, Betsy encouraged us to work at our own pace and learn from each other as we all had different skill levels. It was set up more as a quilting bee or rather like a “lino bee” than a class as you can see on Betsy’s February 13 Creative Blog.

I had done some lino cuts as a teenager, but it had been a while since I played around with it. While I did come prepared with a drawing and I started carving it out on the linoleum on Saturday, I didn’t get it finished until today.  I found myself wanting to take my time with the carving. Seems when I would try and go faster, I could feel the carving tool slip and try to cause an unwanted gash. A good lesson around learning to be patient with myself and the creative process.

2 thoughts on “Play Date in San Francisco

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Leoni! It was wonderful to have you there, and I love your finished print. I added a link to my blog post about the bee, so others can see the evolution of your wonderful design. Thanks for coming!

Leave a Reply

