Refilling the Creative Void

I have been spending the past few weeks doing a lot of reflecting as well as organizing my creative space better as I gear up for 2013. I felt a little concerned that maybe art-wise I am losing some of the momentum I created last year in doing art, yet I am reminded that sometimes it’s good to take a break and refill the creative well. I did go on a few art dates (a term coined by Julia Cameron who wrote the Artist’s Way) last week that helped reinforce this.

Urban Art

Last Sunday, I went to the Oakland Museum to check out the we/customize collaboration project that celebrates the maker culture, especially those that take what is mass produced and add their own creative spin to it.

scrapermontageThe day I went, they were showcasing Scraper Bikes with Tyrone Stevenson, Jr. of the Original Scraper Bike Team. I didn’t know what a Scraper Bike was, but learned they are personally tricked up bikes that use spray paint, foil, colorful tape and even old candy wrappers to decorate the bike frame and rims and found inspiration from Scraper cars.

It was definitely hands on as we were encouraged to decorate the rims they had provided as well as design our own scraper bikes by adding color to templates. Some brought their own bikes to work on as well.

jazz
In addition, I enjoyed hanging out in the café enjoying live jazz where I got inspired by the group at the next table sketching. I didn’t bring my sketch book, but it reminded me that, gee I could do that!
I also got to soak in the wide variety of exhibits from Native American craftsmanship to Modern art.

diyScience & Art

Then on Thursday night at the California Academy of Sciences, where from 6-9 pm they open their doors for “music, creatures and cocktails,”  I volunteered with Radical Mycology at the How-to NightLife.

There was a wide variety of DIY opportunities from learning how to DJ, metal stamping, silk-screening, knitting and with Radical Mycology, how to cultivate your own edible mushrooms. I helped participants inoculate prepared straw with oyster mushroom spores and create kits to take home to grow their own oyster mushrooms.
aquarium
During breaks, I explored the museum and got inspired by fellow DIYers as well as the many exhibits there. It was interesting to see people walking around a science museum with cocktails. Wandering around the aquarium hearing ambient music and observing people chilling with the sea creatures added an element of surrealism to the evening.

Leave a Reply

